Livingscape

Trend Research: The Lighting Experience - Smart Light and PlayLight

Smart Light

Next generation smart technologies have found effective application in the lighting field, enabling light to be connected to domotics and home automation systems, so that it becomes responsive and adaptable according to demand and circumstances, creating the most congenial atmosphere every time.

Ordinary double-sided sticky tape is all that is needed to attach the triangular Nanoleaf Aurora panels to the walls. The LED panels can be smartphone operated and voice controlled and take on the colours and brightness required. In the fullness of time, they will be able to go on and off in response to the rhythm of music in the surrounding atmosphere. It is a system that lends itself to an infinity of possible uses and which, thanks to its fluidity, achieves the perfect fusion of illumination, design and technology.

TL_LightingExperience2_01.jpg

Harnessing these technologies also brings fresh impetus to the design of the lamp as object be it floor standing, suspended or wall-hung allowing it to take on new shapes and meanings. Being able to design wireless-operated lighting, for instance, informs the creation of movable and portable light sources, embracing the current trend for hybridising  the domestic spaces.

Which of us has never experienced a particularly powerful moment when in contact with nature and wanted to try and stamp it on our memories so as to relive it again, mentally at least? Triggered by what is presumably a universal experience, the young Italian designer duo Olive Creative Lab has come up with a lamp that is as technological in its design as it is emotional in its inspiration.

Sun Memories, quite literally reproduces the light of the sun based on our preferences and inclinations. This is all made possible by a wearable device that uses a luminous sensor to record the brightness, colour and temperature of the sun on any given day (it can take readings for over six hours).

TL_LightingExperience2_02.jpg

The data is then fed into an app that enables users to create their own “sunlight recordings playlist”, to store the light from the very best days in the open air. This playlist can be sent to Sun Memories which  using built-in software and an RGB LED connected to it can restore natural light in all its glory, from colour to intensity, to brightness and alternating shadow. 

TL_LightingExperience2_03.jpg

The most fascinating aspect of this project, which is not yet on the market, is not the fact that one can have an easily regulated and personalised lamp, it is the possibility of introducing truly bright light into a domestic or work environment, that constantly changes just as natural light does. 

The Eagle collection of luminaires pays homage to the 1969 space mission that put the first man on the Moon. Four of Woodlabo designer Gaël Wuithier’s lamps were inspired by the fuselage of the Eagle, the lunar module that carried out the actual landing: Orbit, Landing, Moon and Lift Off - which “narrate” the four crucial stages of the lunar expedition. The collection also includes Apollo – reminiscent of the shape of the legendary Apollo 8 command module – and Eagle, which naturally calls to mind the lunar module.

TL_LightingExperience2_04.jpg

In all, the six light and airy luminous sculptures, each of which is highly evocative and admirable in its own right, together resemble a small constellation, a team of flying objects suspended in a timeless dimension.  

TL_LightingExperience2_05.jpg

The choice of materials – birch plywood and aluminium – is an explicit reference to the technical design and components of the moon landing vehicles, while the six shades were constructed with slim birch panels just a couple of millimetres apart in order to let the warm light from the LED 3000K bulbs filter through the gaps, serving to emphasise the conceptual shapes of the lights

We all now know just what a negative effect smartphones can have on our powers of concentration and on productivity. People are increasingly looking for antidotes to hyperconnectivity, small expedients that – far from being a refutation of digital technology – simply enable limits to be placed on the excess of stimuli and stress to which they are exposed on a daily basis.

The answer to this need for a valid digital detox prop could well lie in the marketing of Tranquillo, a prototype created by a group of students - Avid Kadam, Ruya Akyol, Jules McGannon and Yong-Ming Wang – at Domus Academy.

TL_LightingExperience2_06.jpg

Tranquillo is a discreet table lamp that only goes on when a smartphone, which simultaneously goes into automatic “do not disturb” mode, is placed on its base. Thus one simple gesture obtains a dual result: light where it is needed and concentration boosted.

TL_LightingExperience2_07.jpg

Tranquillo is also connected to an app, which enables the brightness and warmth of the light to be customised according to preference and the situation in which it is to be used (reading, study, work, rest, etc.), and its base also works as a USB smartphone charger.  

This truly multitasking object harnesses technology to cut the negative impact technology itself can have on our daily lives. 

PlayLight

The value people place on customised products and consumption increases exponentially when it comes the place that best reflects their social identity and, more than anything, reflects their way of life: the home. It comes as no surprises, therefore that the lighting sector is taking this attitude on board and that interior architects, designers and creatives are throwing themselves into projects and new products that enable them to create the most comfortable lighting ambiance best suited to people’s lifestyles and habits.

From a formal point of view, the trend towards nostalgia, drawing on the past and the ingenuity of the childhood world as a fertile source of stimuli and imagination, has become one of the possible distinctive features of new concepts and designs.  

Conceived by the Viennese duo mischer'traxler, the structure and operation of the Equilumen lamp serve as a reminder of just how delicate finding a balance between a number of moving parts can be. This is achieved through light.

TL_LightingExperience2_08.jpg

The brightness of the two glass globes at either end of an iron rod is equally distributed when they are positioned on the same axis. 

TL_LightingExperience2_09.jpg

Symbolic role aside, the light is devised to trigger interaction with the user, so that the two light sources can be directed where light is needed most, according to need and desired atmosphere. Thus the lamp can be rotated 90 degrees around its centre and angled up to 45 degrees.  

Part successful magic trick and part small art installation, FLYTE is a childhood dream pulled off by designer Simon Morris, which was to create objects that could gravitate freely in the air like a flying carpet or the hoverboard ridden by Michael J. Fox in Back to the Future.

TL_LightingExperience2_10.jpg

FLYTE’s LED light bulb quite literally floats, on a small wooden base available in oak, ash and walnut  harnessing the power of magnetic levitation and the principle of induction, or wireless power transfer, invented by Nikola Tesla. A magnet and wireless receiver are embedded in the bottom cap of the bulb while the base contains a wireless transmitter and an electromagnet. The magnetic force between the two pushes the bulb upwards.

It is activated by being lowered gently towards the centre of the magnetic base: the LEDs then start to turn on, at which point a delicate release can be felt and the electromagnets automatically centre the bulb into position, allowing it to oscillate gently with a rotating movement that verges on the hypnotic

TL_LightingExperience2_11.jpg

Flyte needs no batteries, has a 50,000 hour life and is, quite literally free of wires and gravity. No surprise then that the website claim reads: “Set the light bulb free!” 

Lines & Dots is a collection of lamps by the Home Adventures brand founded by Spanish designers Pablo Figuera and Álvaro Goula as a receptacle for all the unexpressed creativity left over from their childhood, unfettered by market considerations. It is a means of giving free rein to experimentation and to sheer enjoyment by exploring unknown and unconventional fields of expression and quite literally sparking new “home adventures”.

TL_LightingExperience2_12.jpg

The design process started with thousands of lines and dots drawn in ink on paper, from which eight silhouettes were chosen as models.

TL_LightingExperience2_13.jpg

The Helios modular touchscreen wall light went into production following a successful Kickstarter campaign earlier this year – which brought in double the set target. Conceived by designer James Vanderpant and mechanical engineer James Glover, Helios turns walls into a canvas for illumination, in a design concept reminiscent of Lego – on which people’s hands move like paintbrushes to create the desired ambient conditions.

TL_LightingExperience2_14.jpg

The product consists of small plastic hexagons – the bricks – which can be pieced together and connected by magnets set into the edges, to create the most disparate shapes, tailored by its users and environment-specific, as dictated by the need for lighting, anywhere from rooms at home to office spaces.

Once the tiles have been affixed to the wall, the user can swipe them with their hand, like a touch screen, to activate them, thanks to sensors built into each component. As well as providing the physical connection between them, the magnets also allow for the transfer of electricity and over 100 tiles can be connected to the same power circuit. 

TL_LightingExperience2_15.jpg

The basic idea was to create a product that could turn interior architectural elements into light sources and also, to give the user the “ability” to interact playfully with them: when swiped, they create a luminous path that can be changed to suit changing needs and requirements, seamlessly and responsively.

Livingscape

Анализ тенденций:Освещение - «умное» освещение (Smart Light) и «развлекательное» освещение (PlayLight)

«Умное» освещение

Новейшие интеллектуальные технологии эффективно применяются в области освещения. Они позволяют подключить светильники к домашней электронике и системам автоматизации, а также дарят гибкость и способность создавать подходящую атмосферу в жилище, исходя из нужд и обстоятельств. Благодаря особенностям света внутренние пространства приобретают изменчивый характер в зависимости от использования, потребностей, настроения и жизненных событий.

Обычная двухсторонняя липкая лента — вот и всё, что нужно для крепления треугольных панелей Nanoleaf Aurora к стенам. Цвет и яркость светодиодных панелей можно контролировать с помощью смартфона и голосовых команд. В нужный момент они могут мигать в ритм музыке, которая звучит в помещении. Эта система подходит для бесконечного множества применений и благодаря гибкости представляет собой идеальное сочетание света, дизайна и технологий.

TL_LightingExperience2_01.jpg

Использование этих технологий также позволяет взглянуть на разработку напольной, подвесной или настенной лампы как предмета под другим углом и придать ей новые формы и смыслы. Появление беспроводного освещения, например, обусловило создание съемных и переносных источников света для помещений как внутри, так и вне дома. Такие изобретения отвечают текущей тенденции к гибридизации домашнего пространства и размывания его границ.

Вам никогда не хотелось после особенно сильного чувства единения с природой стереть воспоминания об этом, чтобы заново ощутить те же эмоции? Такое, по-видимому, характерное для всех желание вдохновило дуэт молодых дизайнеров из Италии Olive Creative Lab на разработку лампы с технологичным дизайном и трогательной историей создания.

Светильник Sun Memories в буквальном смысле воспроизводит солнечный свет в зависимости от наших предпочтений и склонностей. Все это стало возможным благодаря носимому устройству-аксессуару со световым датчиком, который фиксирует яркость, цвет и температуру солнечного света в любой день (он может снимать показания более шести часов).

TL_LightingExperience2_02.jpg

Затем данные поступают в приложение, позволяющее пользователям составлять собственный «солнечный плейлист» как напоминание о лучших днях на открытом воздухе. Этот плейлист можно «загрузить» в лампу Sun Memories. С помощью встроенного программного обеспечения и подключенного трехцветного светодиода она может восстановить естественный свет во всей его красоте, включая цвет, интенсивность, яркость и чередование тени. 

TL_LightingExperience2_03.jpg

Самый удивительный плюс этого еще не представленного на рынке проекта — это не возможность получить легко регулируемую и персонализированную лампу, а появление по-настоящему яркого света в жилой и рабочей среде, постоянно изменчивого, как и естественное освещение. 

Коллекция светильников Eagle увековечивает память о первом космическом полете человека на Луну в 1969 году. На создание четырех ламп Гаэля Уитера (Gaël Wuithier) из компании Woodlabo вдохновила обшивка «Орла», лунного модуля для фактического приземления. Модели Orbit («Орбита»), Landing («Посадка»), Moon («Луна») и Lift Off («Взлет») рассказывают о четырех важнейших этапах экспедиции на Луну. Коллекция также включает светильники Apollo, чьи очертания повторяют легендарный командный модуль «Аполлона-8», и Eagle, который напоминает о лунном модуле.

TL_LightingExperience2_04.jpg

Таким образом, шесть легких и воздушных, наполненных светом скульптур, каждая из которых сама по себе заслуживает внимания и восхищения, вместе напоминают небольшое созвездие, группу предметов, парящих вне времени.  

TL_LightingExperience2_05.jpg

Выбор материалов — березовая фанера и алюминий — служит прямой отсылкой к технической конструкции и деталям космических кораблей, которые высаживались на Луну. Шесть абажуров были собраны из узких березовых панелей с зазором в несколько миллиметров, чтобы пропускать мягкий свет от светодиодных ламп 3000 К и подчеркнуть концептуальные формы светильников

Все мы теперь знаем, насколько смартфоны могут снижать нашу внимательность и способность эффективно трудиться. Чаты, электронные письма, сообщения, ленты в социальных сетях по-прежнему отвлекают и мешают нам. Люди все чаще ищут средства от гиперподключенности, небольшие приемы, которые вовсе не исключают цифровые технологии, а ограничивают ежедневный поток раздражителей и стрессов.

Такую справедливую потребность в отдыхе от цифровых технологий может вполне удовлетворить продажа светильника Tranquillo, изобретенного группой студентов при Domus Academy (Авид Кадам (Avid Kadam), Руя Акйол (Ruya Akyol), Жюль Макганнон (Jules McGannon) и Юн-Мин Ван (Yong-Ming Wang).  

TL_LightingExperience2_06.jpg

Tranquillo — это не привлекающая внимания настольная лампа с удивительным механизмом действия: она работает только тогда, когда смартфон лежит на ее основании (при этом, на нем автоматически включается режим «не беспокоить»). Как видите, один простой жест приносит двойную пользу: освещение и концентрацию внимания. 

TL_LightingExperience2_07.jpg

Светильник Tranquillo также подключен к приложению для настройки яркости и теплоты света в зависимости от предпочтений и ситуации (чтение, учеба, работа, отдых и т. д.). Кроме того, его подставка работает как USB-зарядка для смартфонов.  Наконец, источник света можно снять с держателя и при необходимости использовать как небольшой фонарик.

Этот по-настоящему многофункциональный предмет использует технологии, чтобы снизить их собственное влияние на нашу обычную жизнь. 

«Развлекательное» освещение

Люди придают особое значение выбору индивидуальных товаров для пространства, которое лучше всего отражает их социальный статус и, сверх того, образ жизни. И это пространство называется дом. Это совсем неудивительно: освещение взяло на себя удовлетворение этой задачи, а архитекторы интерьеров, дизайнеры и разработчики с радостью берутся за проекты и разработку новых товаров для создания максимально уютного освещения с учетом образа жизни и привычек людей.

Свет — это еще и действенный инструмент, который привносит веселую беззаботность в процесс персонализации. Она очень нравится пользователям не только из-за желания раскрыть собственный творческий потенциал, но и по чисто развлекательным причинам, поскольку новые технологии серьезно облегчают взаимодействие с приборами и оживляют нашу повседневную жизнь.

С формальной точки зрения, тенденция к ностальгии, обращению к прошлому и использованию удивительного мира детства как богатого источника импульсов и фантазий стала одной из отличительных черт новых идей и изобретений.  

Конструкция лампы Equilumen, придуманной венским дуэтом mischer'traxler, служит нам напоминанием, как хрупок может быть баланс между множеством движущихся деталей. Этот посыл передается с помощью света. 

TL_LightingExperience2_08.jpg

Яркость двух стеклянных плафонов на концах железного стержня одинакова, когда они располагаются на одной оси. 

TL_LightingExperience2_09.jpg

Помимо символизма, устройство разработано таким образом, чтобы вовлечь пользователя во взаимодействие: два источника света можно направить в необходимые стороны в зависимости от потребности и желаемой обстановки. Эту лампу можно поворачивать на 90° по центру и наклонять под углом до 45°.  

Будучи отчасти удачным фокусом и небольшой арт-инсталляцией, FLYTE воплощает детскую мечту дизайнера Саймона Морриса (Simon Morris) о создании свободно парящих в воздухе предметов, таких как ковер-самолет или ховерборд, на котором ездил Майкл Джей Фокс в фильме «Назад в будущее».

TL_LightingExperience2_10.jpg

Светодиодная лампа FLYTE в буквальном смысле плывет над небольшим деревянным основанием из дуба, ясеня или ореха. Весь секрет заключается в магнитной левитации и принципе индукции, или в беспроводной передаче энергии, изобретенной Николой Тесла. Магнит и беспроводной приемник встроены в цоколь лампы, а основание оснащено беспроводным передатчиком и электромагнитом. Таким образом магнитная сила толкает лампочку вверх.

Лампу включают, аккуратно опустив ее к центру магнитного основания: светодиоды начинают зажигаться, в какой-то момент можно почувствовать легкий толчок, и электромагниты автоматически помещают лампочку в центр. Ее вращение и легкое подрагиваниегипнотическое зрелище.  

TL_LightingExperience2_11.jpg

Flyte не требует батареек и проводов, а срок ее службы составляет 50 тыс. часов. На это изобретение законы гравитации не действуют в прямом смысле слова. Не удивительно, что слоган на сайте гласит: «Выпустите лампочку на свободу!». 

Lines & Dots — это коллекция ламп под маркой Home Adventures, основанной испанскими дизайнерами Пабло Фигуэра (Pablo Figuera) и Альваро Гоула (Álvaro Goula) как отражение всех нереализованных в детстве творческих порывов, без учета рыночной конъюнктуры. Дизайнеры ставили перед собой задачу дать волю экспериментам, получать удовольствие от изучения неизвестных и непривычных способов выражения и отправиться в новые «домашние приключения».

TL_LightingExperience2_12.jpg

Процесс разработки начался с того, что на бумаге были нарисованы чернилами тысячи точек и линий, из которых в качестве образцов были выбраны восемь очертаний. 

TL_LightingExperience2_13.jpg

Вслед за успешной кампанией на Kickstarter в начале этого года (планируемая сумма сборов была превышена в два раза) началось серийное производство модульного сенсорного настенного светильника Helios. Изобретение, за созданием которого стоят дизайнер Джеймс Вандерпант (James Vanderpant) и инженер Джеймс Гловер (James Glover), превращает стену в холст для подсветки. Принцип работы устройства напоминает Lego. Пользователь сам определяет условия освещения, дотрагиваясь ладонью до деталей, словно художник кистью

TL_LightingExperience2_14.jpg

Панель состоит из небольших пластиковых шестигранников, которые соединяются между собой, как детали конструктора, с помощью магнитных креплений по краям. Такой подход позволяет создавать самые разнообразные формы в зависимости от желаний пользователей и окружающей обстановки. Он подходит для любых помещений: от домашних комнат до офисных пространств. 

После крепления плиток к стене пользователь может провести по ним рукой, как по сенсорному экрану, — и они загорятся благодаря встроенным в каждую деталь датчикам. Помимо механического соединения, магниты позволяют осуществлять передачу электроэнергии. К одной цепи питания может быть подключено более 100 плиток. 

TL_LightingExperience2_15.jpg

Главной задачей было создать решение, которое бы превращало архитектурные элементы интерьера в источники света и позволяло бы пользователям весело взаимодействовать с ними: форму и размеры световой дорожки можно легко и быстро изменить одним движением руки, исходя из потребностей и требований.