Livingscape

Trend Research: Eco-Conscious Home - Sustainable living

I think that as a designer nowadays we should not think we are all making the antiques of the future […]. We should create products that can be part of a circular system, and are designed considering what material goes into the product and what it leaves  behind after use. (Christien Meindertsma, Designer)


TL_Eco-consciousHome_990_001.jpg

Norwegian Wood is the name of a non-fiction book by Lars Mytting – a Norwegian journalist and storyteller – which discusses the traditional Norwegian art of chopping wood and stacking it for the winter. Translated into ten languages, it has become a bestseller well beyond Scandinavia.

The fascination that the volume has generated, even among city-dwellers, goes far deeper than simply attempting to learn a skill and is largely owed to the fact that the activities described by Mytting – whether or not they are put into practice – resonate with universal and existential issues such as the primeval relationship between man and nature and the respect for the timescales and lifecycles of what is considered the ultimate natural material.

More a life lesson, the book takes a whole new look at things, and which translates into the adoption of eco-conscious behaviours and the search for sustainable, eco-compatible and environmentally friendly products. This approach is also beginning to be manifest within the domestic walls, both in the choice of furniture, furnishings and materials.

Companies and designers are becoming mindful of sustainability in relation to manufacturing processes, embracing the principles of a circular economy and experimenting with raw materials made from recycled waste. The design sector is beginning to take the entire lifecycle of things into consideration, paving the way for innovative practices such as the creative re-use or harnessing of biodegradable materials.

There are myriad original creative solutions for using up waste materials, giving them a second life and a chance to be used for different purposes. As we have already seen, the takeback of discarded shipping containers has provided town planners and retailers with a low-cost means of temporarily rehabilitating entire city areas. Canadian firm Modpools (www.modpools.com) is now trialling their application in gardens and outdoor areas as a quick and way to install swimming pools with spa functions.

The container/pools are small, easily installed and equally easily relocated. They have integrated water-heating systems and all the functions can be controlled via a smartphone app. This enables even a tiny garden to be transformed – without too much expense – into a solarium, while helping to recycle large quantities of material with no environmental repercussions.

This macro-trend breaks down into three micro-trends that describe its different applications and facets: Zero Waste DesignUpcycled Materials and Low Impact Living.

Salone WorldWide Moscow

Livingscape

Анализ тенденций: Экологичный дом -
Устойчивый образ жизни

Мое мнение как дизайнера таково: надо отойти от мысли, будто бы мы создаем антиквариат для будущего <...>. Мы должны предлагать предметы, которые войдут в систему круговорота, и учитывать, из чего они состоят и что оставят после себя. (Кристен Мейндертсма, дизайнер)

TL_Eco-consciousHome_990_001.jpg

«Норвежский лес» — так называется научно-популярная книга Ларса Миттинга (Lars Mytting), журналиста и писателя из Норвегии, о традиционном для этой страны искусстве рубки дров и укладывании их на зиму. Переведенная на десяток языков, она стала бестселлером.

Восхищение, которое эта работа вызвала даже среди горожан, нельзя объяснить простой попыткой получить новый навык и во многом связано со следующим фактом: предоставленные Миттингом данные (вне зависимости от того, найдут они применение в реальной жизни или нет) затрагивают такие универсальные и жизненно важные вопросы, как древняя связь человека и природы и уважительное отношение к жизненно-временным циклам основного натурального материала.

«Норвежский лес» представляет собой жизненный урок и открывает совершенно новый взгляд на вещи. Кроме того, книга пробуждает восприимчивость, которая отражается в экологически осознанном поведении и поиске устойчивой, экологически совместимой и безопасной продукции. Этот подход также начинает проявляться в домашних стенах в выборе мебели, украшений и материалов.

Компании и дизайнеры все больше внимания уделяют устойчивости производственных процессов, следуют принципам циркулярной экономики и экспериментирует с сырьем из переработанных отходов. Дизайн начинает учитывать весь жизненный цикл предметов, закладывая фундамент для таких новаторских методов, как использование биоразлагаемых материалов или необычные способы повторного применения вещей.

Такая установка породила великое множество оригинальных творческих решений по использованию отходов, подарив им вторую жизнь и возможности применения для различных целей. Как мы уже видели, для розничных предприятий и специалистов по городскому планированию списанные морские контейнеры стали недорогим средством для временного восстановления целых городских районов. Сейчас канадская фирма Modpools (www.modpools.com) выводит на рынок пробную партию быстрых в установке плавательных бассейнов с гидромассажем для садов и площадок на открытом воздухе.

Бассейны-контейнеры отличаются небольшими размерами, их легко монтировать и не менее легко перемещать. Они оснащены встроенными системами нагрева воды, а всеми функциями можно управлять через приложение для смартфона. Это решение позволяет без особых затрат преобразить даже небольшой сад в спа-курорт, помогая при этом переработать большой объем сырья без последствий для окружающей среды.

Этот макротренд включает в себя три микротренда, которые затрагивают его различные грани и способы применения: безотходный дизайн (Zero Waste Design), вторичное использование материалов (Upcycled Materials) и экологичный образ жизни (Low Impact Living).