Livingscape

Trend Research: Eco-Conscious Home - Zero Waste Design

The Zero Waste philosophy originated in the Food world, where new “surplus” yet still perfectly good food consumption sales models and practices are being generated. The concept is slowly but steadily being embraced by all manufacturing sectors.  

In the design world, this means taking on board the concept of circularity, minimising manufacturing waste, and planning not just the durability of objects but also their disassemblability and their capacity to be recycled or disposed of.

Zero Waste means experimenting with the use of innovative materials and researching biomaterials that help lower the environmental impact of furniture and furnishings, enabling them to become biodegradable, like organic waste. 

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_001b.jpg

R16 is a light, or rather, a light made from its own packaging. Design studio Waarmakers has come up with a response to the extremely critical sector-wide problem vexing manufacturers: packaging that, in most cases, once it has served its original purpose, becomes waste that needs to be disposed of, implying high financial and environmental costs.

As cardboard tubes are not just extremely hardwearing but are also neutral in tone and looks, making them suitable for all kinds of interiors, designers Simon and Maarten decided to pay homage to such a versatile material by making it an inherent part of the product itself. 

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_002.jpg

The cardboard packaging contains the LED light and the various components needed for mounting and suspending it. A perforated section of the tube/packaging is then removed, leaving room for the light to shine through; then a simple pencil is all that’s needed to hold the LED rod in place. A personal touch ensures that no R16s are alike. 

The designers at South Korea’s Hattern studio set out specifically to make a product without generating any waste at all. The upshot was the Zero Per Stool seat and informed its characteristic appearance.

The stool consists of two parts – legs and seat – one made from the offcuts of the other. The legs are made from rectangular sheets of white oak, shaped to slot together, obviating the need for any other material. The offcuts are broken into bits and put into a mould that is then filled with resin, ensuring that no two finished articles look exactly alike.

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_003.jpg

The arrangement of the bits of wood is different every time and the resin can take on different colourways – its translucid consistency lending an artistic touch to their variability.

Many independent producers and designers are now electing to make biodegradable domestic furnishings. One such is Alki, a Basque design collective which – in keeping with the eco-friendly approach that marks out all their projects – has come up with Kuskoa Bi, the first fully biodegradable bioplastic chair.

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_004.jpg

The collective, based in a valley overlooked by the Pyrenees, specialises in integrated production methods for creating eco-conscious, comfortable and elegant design pieces, using natural and environmentally friendly materials and resources. Specifically, this chair boasts a particularly enveloping shell, designed to provide optimum back and arm support. This is a shape that can only be achieved by using plastic materials.

This is where the idea of experimenting with bioplastic comes in. It is already used in several different fields, such as car manufacturing. Bioplastic is a polymer with similar characteristics and properties to plastic; it can also be injected, extruded and thermoformed but, unlike plastic, is made 100% from plant-based products (beet, corn starch, sugar cane etc.). 

Dutch designer Christien Meindertsma has come up with an alternative use for linen fibre for manufacturing furnishings, which has earned him not one but two Dutch Design Awards. His Flax Chair is made entirely of this textile fibre combined with PLA, polylactic acid. Two naturally derived materials, serving to ensure that the finished product is totally biodegradable.

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_005.jpg

The designer spotted the tremendous potential of linen fibre, both because of its valuable qualities and because the plant flourishes at those particular latitudes and requires little investment in the way of resources. Following the success of this first experiment, Meindertsma is now considering creating an entire range, which will include both different chair colours and other furnishing pieces such as tables

Livingscape

Анализ тенденций: Экологичный дом - Безотходный дизайн

Философия безотходного дизайна возникла в сфере обеспечения продовольствием, где появляются модели и практики сбыта «ненужных», но вполне пригодных для потребления продуктов питания. Это понятие медленно, но верно проникает во все промышленные отрасли.

В мире дизайна это означает принять концепцию цикличности, максимально сокращать промышленные отходы и предлагать не только долговечные, но и разборные на отдельные детали предметы, которые можно переработать и утилизировать.

Безотходный дизайн предполагает эксперименты с инновационными материалами и изучение биоматериалов, помогающих снизить воздействие мебели и предметов обихода на окружающую среду за счет их биоразлагаемости, как у органических отходов. 

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_001b.jpg

R16 — это светильник или, скорее, лампа в корпусе из собственной упаковки. Дизайнерское бюро Waarmakers предложило решение для крайне важной проблемы в отрасли производства: чаще всего упаковка, выполнив первоначальную задачу, переходит в категорию отходов, которые нужно утилизировать, а это влечет высокие финансовые и экологические издержки.

Поскольку картонные трубки не только чрезвычайно практичны, но и имеют нейтральный тон и внешний вид, что делает их пригодными для любого интерьера, дизайнеры Симон (Simon) и Мартен (Maarten) решили воздать должное такому универсальному материалу, сделав его неотъемлемой частью самого светильника. 

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_002.jpg

В упаковке находятся светодиодная лампа и различные детали для монтажа и подвешивания. Затем необходимо убрать участок картона с перфорацией, чтобы из получившегося отверстия мог идти свет. Для закрепления провода светодиодной лампы вполне хватит обычного карандаша. Благодаря нестандартному подходу, двух одинаковых ламп R16 не бывает. 

Дизайнеры из южнокорейской студии Hattern поставили перед собой особую задачу: произвести товар, не создавая при этом вообще никаких отходов. Результатом стал табурет Zero Per Stool с необычным внешним видом.

Этот предмет мебели состоит из двух элементов: ножек и сиденья. При этом одна часть сделана из обрезков другой. Скрепленные между собой ножки выполнены из прямоугольных листов белого дуба, в результате устраняется необходимость в другом материале. Обрезки крепятся на кусочки и попадают в форму, которая затем заполняется смолой. Благодаря этому, два готовых изделия никогда не будут выглядеть совершенно одинаково.

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_003.jpg

Каждый раз частички дерева складываются в новый узор, а смола может принимать различные цветовые сочетания — ее полупрозрачная консистенция подчеркивает художественный эффект изменчивого рисунка.

Сейчас многие независимые производители и дизайнеры предпочитают создавать биоразлагаемую мебель для дома. Одним из таких примеров может служить коллектив дизайнеров Alki из Басконии. Следуя характерному для всех их проектов принципу экологичности, они представили Kuskoa Bi, первый полностью биоразлагаемый стул из биопластика. 

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_004.jpg

Дизайнерская мастерская расположена в долине с видом на Пиренеи и специализируется на комплексных технологиях для производства экологически чистых, удобных и элегантных предметов из натуральных и экологичных материалов и ресурсов. Например, этот стул обладает особо удобным изгибом сиденья, обеспечивающим оптимальную поддержку спины и рук. Такую форму можно получить только с помощью пластиковых материалов.

Именно на этом этапе и возникла идея поэкспериментировать с биопластиком. Его уже применяют в нескольких различных отраслях, например, в автомобилестроении. Биопластик — это полимер с характеристиками и свойствами, аналогичными пластику. Его также можно впрыскивать в форму, формировать выдавливанием и высокими температурами. Но в отличие от пластика он на 100% состоит из сырья растительного происхождения (свекла, кукурузный крахмал, сахарный тростник и т. д.). 

Голландский дизайнер Кристен Мейндертсма (Christien Meindertsma) придумала альтернативное использование льняного волокна для производства мебели. Это изобретение принесло ей не одну, а целых две награды Dutch Design Awards. Стул Flax Chair целиком сделан из текстильного волокна в сочетании с полилактидной кислотой. Два полученных натуральным способом вещества обеспечивают полную биоразлагаемость конечного продукта.

TL_Eco-consciousHomeZW_990_005.jpg

Дизайнер отметила огромный потенциал льняного волокна как из-за его ценных качеств, так и из-за его распространенности в Голландии и небольших вложений в плане ресурсов. После успеха первого эксперимента сейчас Мейндертсма думает над созданием целой линейки продукции, которая будет включать стулья различных цветов и другие предметы мебели, такие как столы.