HIGHLIGHTS

John Derian Picture Book

segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_00.jpg

Since 1983, when he unearthed a box of trouvailles, postcards and 19th century photos at a flea market, world famous practitioner of découpage John Derian’s passion for the natural world has found an outlet in prints and illustrations from an era in which everything had to be learned from books.  

The John Derian Picture Book, published by Artisan Books, transports us into his world of beauty, fantasy and mystery. The book contains 300 of the thousands of pictures the author has collected over the last three decades: a potpourri of flora, fauna, artwork, portraits of people and animals, and other unclassifiable oddities that succeed each other in no particular order.

Derian asked Anna Wintour - editor-in-chief of Vogue and artistic director of Condé Nast – to write the preface. She writes: “When the world is full of huge emporiums that are impossible to tell apart, he has fashioned an intimate, personal space where we are seduced by his singular sense of style”.

John Derian, John Derian Picture Book, Artisan 2016

  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_01.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_02.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_03.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_04.jpg

ПРОЕКТЫ

«Книга с картинками Джона Дериана»
(John Derian Picture Book)

segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_00.jpg

Раскопав в 1983 году на блошином рынке коробку с trouvailles — открытками и фотографиями 19‑го века, Джон Дериан, всемирно известный художник-декоратор, работающий в технике декупажа, нашел выход для своей страстной любви к природе в рисунках и снимках той эпохи, когда знания можно было получить только из книг. 

«Книга с картинками Джона Дериана», опубликованная издательством Artisan Books, переносит нас в мир красоты, фантазии и тайны. Книга содержит 300 рисунков из тысяч, собранных автором за три десятка лет: попурри из флоры, фауны, картин, изображений людей и животных и разнообразных диковинок, сменяющих друг друга в произвольном порядке.

Дериан попросил Анну Винтур (Anna Wintour), главного редактора Vogue и креативного директора издательства Condé Nast, написать предисловие к своей книге. Она отмечает: «В то время как мир переполнен неотличимыми друг от друга громадными торговыми центрами, он создает интимное, личностное пространство, притягивающее нас благодаря его исключительному чувству стиля».

Джон Дериан. «Книга с картинками Джона Дериана», изд-во Artisan, 2016

  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_01.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_02.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_03.jpg
  • segnali_JohnDerianPictureBook_990g_04.jpg